Home » Rantings and ramblings » One More Week

One More Week

Time has just flown.

I just have Physics and English to finish up.

Accounting is finally over. It’s been a struggle. I don’t even know what my final grade is. I know it’s not good. I’m hoping I made a C, but I don’t know. My second to last test was a 66. I think this last one was a 74…I’m not sure. I’m kicking myself because on this last test, there were two questions that I had the correct answer at first, but I changed my mind. For once I got every true or false question right, but that wasn’t enough.

I’m still disappointed that I didn’t even come close to that 86.

About four months in, I wanted to drop out of Accounting. I’ve never wanted to drop out of a class. Ever. Even if it was hard, I pushed through it but this one was So. Difficult. I hated it. I still do, but maybe with less fervor. Anyways, Dad wouldn’t let me quit. I’m glad I didn’t drop the class, because I don’t want to known as a quitter, but failing a class isn’t much better.

I’ve been thinking about which one’s worse: a quitter or a failure?

After talking with a sister in Christ, I came to theΒ conclusion that a quitter is a failure. A quitter is someone who gives up when it gets too hard. God calls us to persevere, to keep on keeping on. His definition of a failure is not a grade that I get or don’t get. His definition of a failure is that I didn’t even try. His definition of a failure is that I didn’t finish the work because it got too hard, so I gave up.

So even if I fail the class, and even though I’m not proud of my work. I tried. I hated every second of it and I might have tried a little too late, but I finished the course.

And I will never take Accounting ever again.

2 thoughts on “One More Week

  1. Oh Ruth, accounting is so important in all of life. Your business dealings, your personal finances, whether you can make sensible rational decisions regarding home purchases…everything one needs to live life. So reconsider your antipathy for accounting.
    Big Ruth’s advice for the day.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Now that you are finished, I can tell you that the curriculum we used probably wasn’t the best. Sufficient for an Introduction to Accounting? Perhaps. But there are much better resources, books, and videos available to master the concepts. Accounting is critical to owning and managing your business. It is the only way you will know whether you are profitable or running a hobby.

    Proud of you for working through it despite all the challenges.

    Like

Leave a Reply

