Home » Quilts and Such » I Made These.

I Made These.

Two of my dearest friends graduated from high school this year, so I painted two canvases and wrote Proverbs 3:5-6 over it. That particular Scripture had been on my heart for a while and for quite a few months, I had been praying those verses for these two friends. I thought it would be a nice gift for them as they enter the new seasons of life. 🙂

Message_1465508611690[1]

About three months ago, Mrs. Rose sent me a Bella Clutch kit all cut out and ready to sew. I finally got my sewing machine up and running last week (yay!) and sewed this cute bag while Mom worked on her part of the baby quilt.

This quilt was so much fun to make! I’m in love with the vibrant colors. We got most of the batiks from http://www.jellyrollfabric.net/, but we also used some batiks from our stash to add some variety. The binding is actually a hand-painted batik from a quilt kit I forgot I had. I quilted this one using my leaf stencil on the colors and I also quilted simple vines on the black sashing.

Cool story: God has this amazing way of providing for our needs. At first, we were going to use a solid black broadcloth for the backing because it would match the sashing on the quilt top and we couldn’t find a better fabric that matched. We were really kicking ourselves because we have so much fabric, yet none really came close to a winner. I was going through a bag that holds my unfinished sweatshirt jacket (that I have given up on) and at the bottom of the bag was that beautiful purple batik! I forgot I had kept that aside to bind my jacket, but it was pretty much the exact size we needed for this quilt and the batik pattern was perfect! It was made for this quilt. God is just amazing like that. 🙂

We had a card-making day earlier in the month with a sweet family from church. It was really nice to take a day off from school and just use the paper, stamps, decorative scissors, and stickers to make beautiful cards. I made about a dozen or so. 😉 I think we’ll have to do this again because I still have an enormous amount of card-making stuff hiding under my bed.

20160611_104930[1]

I was able to transform an old composition notebook into my very own smashbook. I’m so pleased with how it turned out!

 

A couple other projects are in progress so you will definitely be seeing more of what I’ve been up to. 🙂

Let me just say that it feels so good to have my sewing machine up and running again and to have all my crafting supplies unpacked at last!

4 thoughts on “I Made These.

Leave a Reply

