Home » Uncategorized » Braces, It’s Been Nice Knowing You

Braces, It’s Been Nice Knowing You

A year and a half ago, I had braces put in.

IMG_20150219_123612

My first day with braces.

I’m not going to lie, the struggle was real. They were pretty awful. I remember that it hurt so badly for the first five days, I literally didn’t want to talk, eat, or do anything that involved opening my mouth. I remember crying to Mom one night and telling her that I wanted to die because my mouth hurt so bad. The excruciating pain did stop and I got used to the feeling of having metal in my mouth. However, every adjustment the orthodontist made, every food I had to turn down, every single time I tried to floss, every cut and and every mouth ulcer the wires gave me. All of it was a struggle.

Anyhow, I am so thrilled to announce that the struggle is over! Yesterday, the braces came off!

No braces

They’re gone!

It’s funny. I had ten minutes of FREEDOM in the waiting room, then the  girl called me back because they finished making my retainers. I’m supposed to wear them all the time, except when I eat, until I get the other retainer they’re making. The retainers feel constricting and it’s painful taking them off and putting them back on. I guess the constricting part is normal since the whole point of wearing them is to keep my teeth from shifting. 😛

It’s hard to believe that it’s only been a year and a half. It feels much longer than that. It’s hard to believe that the braces are actually gone. I keep running my tongue over my teeth to make sure it’s not some fantastic dream.

It’s not. It’s real. They’re really gone! I hope I never need braces again.

Leave a Reply

