Home » Adventures » Note to Self: Dance Like Nobody’s Watching.

Note to Self: Dance Like Nobody’s Watching.

This has been one heck of a week. We’re moving in a matter of days, so the family is busy packing up their belongings. Our school room has turned into a storage room/fort/cave for me. I haven’t helped with any of the packing because I’ve been working all week on a research paper. I’ve been at this thing for nearly two months now, and it’s still not done. So, I spent every second of my day solely working on this and it’s killing me. Note to self: Don’t do that ever again. Prioritize better and pace yourself.

On a lighter note, I wanted to tell you about last weekend. It was filled with music! Last Friday, we went to see our friend play beach, pop, 60’s-70’s classics and rock ‘n roll music with his band. Uncle Jerell and little Olympia met us there and we partied. There was dancing. SO much dancing. Old couples, young couples, children, you name it, they were all dancing and it was great.

Self-conscious me didn’t want to dance among strangers, but I wasn’t the only one who was self-conscious. I’m really glad that Uncle Jerell was there, and that he loved to dance. I don’t think I would have gotten out there if it wasn’t for him. He kept trying to get his lady friends to go and dance with him. It wasn’t until I joined him that they followed. See? I wasn’t the only one who was self-conscious! By nightfall, I was dancing next to Uncle Jerell , his friends, and Olympia was in his arms. She was having a great time playing with my sisters and dancing with her dad. I remember being so close to the stage, our guitarist friend spotted me in the crowd. He was happy to see me dancing and enjoying the music. Note to self: Always move closer to the front of the stage. “That’s where the party’s at!” according to Uncle Jerell.

So, the next time there’s a dance floor, I’m going to dance like nobody’s watching.

The following day, we had a memorial service to attend. I was asked to play my violin with our pianist, Mrs. Becky. I had prayed the entire week that I could play skillfully and touch the hearts of my listeners. I prayed that I could comfort them through my music. So many people were touched by Mrs. Eleanor’s life, including mine. We miss her so much. From the moment I woke up, I was anxious about my performance. So, turning to my Bible for some comfort, I opened it and came to Psalms 46. I stopped at verse 10, “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations. I will be exalted in the earth!” That was the exact verse I sewed onto the mug rug I had made for Mrs. Eleanor. When I read it a second time, I could hear her voice reading that first part, “Be still, and know that I am God.” That calmed the flutters in my heart and gave me peace. When I played, I honestly don’t think I’ve played better than that in my entire life. I hit every note and played confidently, another thing that I had been praying for. After the service, I had many people tell me that my music blessed them and that it was beautiful. Another prayer answered. All glory be to God because that was seriously all Him. I was just a vessel.

We spent the rest of the day with Olympia. We stopped by the house to see the progress. It’s so exciting! Just a few more days.

Olympia is a doll. We love her to death and I think she loves us too. 😉 She brings so much joy to our life when she comes to play.

Sunday came. That evening was the church potluck and singing night. My family sang together, E. and I sang with her ukulele, and Mom & Dad sang. Every time we sing as a family, I’m reminded of how much we bless our listeners. People still talk about us singing on Christmas Eve! I remember the peace on Mrs. Eleanor’s face when we sang for her just a week prior to her passing. Now I have another memory of us singing for our church and praising our Jesus.

Note to self: sing out. Sing for Jesus. Don’t bottle it up. Music is meant to be shared.

Leave a Reply

