Home » Uncategorized » To Recommend and to Read

To Recommend and to Read

I’ve been reading quite a few books these past two weeks. In no particular order, here’s my list of the ones I finished!

Pilgrim’s Progress (John Bunyan)
This is an allegory of the Christian life and so beautifully written! While I was reading, one of my little brothers actually started reading a simpler version and the Lord used it in a miraculous way. My brother just recently asked Jesus Christ into his heart and to be his Lord and Saviour. My brother is a Christian on his way to the Celestial City!

Heartsick (RJ Conte)
This romantic book was so good, I read it in two days! I couldn’t put it down! Heartsick has well developed characters, real struggles in relationships, good morals, exciting twists and very relatable feelings. RJ did a wonderful job of keeping this PG and giving the characters depth in their personalities. I found myself relating to Blessing and Shale quite a bit. You can purchase this book on kindle here. Or if you like tangible books, like me 😉, you can order a copy here.

The Hotline Girl (RJ Conte)
This is a terrific modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast! RJ self-published this last summer but just recently published it with Clean Reads and added a beautiful new cover and final chapter. It’s romantic, a quick read, the characters are sweet, and it’s Beauty and the Beast! Kindle download is here.

Do Hard Things (Alex and Brett Harris)
An inspirational, thought provoking, book for teens by teens. Join the rebellution: the rebellion against the low expectations that teenagers face in today’s day and age. Fun fact: They’re twins and younger brothers of Joshua Harris, author of I Kissed Dating Goodbye. (Which is also a good book.)

Messenger (Lois Lowry)
This is the third book out of the four part Giver series. I think this was my least favorite book out of the series. The Giver is still my absolute favorite.

When a Christian Sins (Dr. John R. Rice)
Christians sin. I am no exception. But where there is sin, there is so much more grace. Dr. Rice talks about the severity of sin, the importance of confessing sin and repenting, and how a Christian can live victoriously over sin.

He Touched Me (Rex Trogdon)
This is a devotional my pastor wrote. I enjoyed reading through the different accounts of Jesus’ healing touch, both to the body and the soul. I appreciate how he broke up each encounter with Jesus’ touch into four parts: the Scriptures, the story, the outline, then the sermon. Mr. Rex made it easy to follow his train of thought, feed on the Word, and consider how these accounts apply to me. You can read it on Kindle here.

So that’s seven books.

I have a growing stack to read on my nightstand as well as a list on my Kindle. 🙂

To Read:
Mere Christianity (C.S. Lewis)
Follow Me (David Platt)
Son (Lois Lowry)
Redwall (Brian Jacques)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Victor Hugo)
Les Miserables (Victor Hugo)
Crazy Love (Francis Chan)
Vinegar Boy (Alberta Hawse)
Worlds Collide (Heidi Joelle)
•Uncle Tom’s Cabin (Harriet Beecher Stowe)

5 thoughts on “To Recommend and to Read

  1. Thank you so much for listing my books! I follow your blog, yet I don’t seem to have been notified about this post! So weird! Anyway, I’m so thankful you enjoyed them and are sharing the info about them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

