Home » Growth » Mandalas and Swastikas

Mandalas and Swastikas

God has been convicting me about a lot of things. Two of which, I wanted to share.

The other day, Aunt Laura shared a link about mandalas and their history. Mom read it and shared it with me because mandalas, zendalas, and zentangles are something that I really enjoy drawing. (You can read the article here.)

I knew sort of what mandalas were, and didn’t draw them after I found out it was a spiritual symbol of Buddhism and Hinduism. A friend explained to me that zentangles were traditionally done on a square and zendalas were pretty much zentangles done on a circle. So, I continued to do those. But after reading that article and thinking back on all of my designs, both circular and square, I felt convicted. I couldn’t tell the difference between my zendalas and the mandalas that other people drew other than theirs looked so much prettier than mine.

wp-1456756494941.jpg

I recalled feeling very tired and drained after focusing on drawing for several hours at a time.

IMG_20160121_183435046[1]

After talking with Mom and discussing zentangles and zendalas, I felt convicted over how I let drawing a beautiful piece of artwork consume me and lead me to shirk from my responsibilities. I realized that I was letting myself zone out and escape reality for long periods of time because it felt relaxing and meditative. I felt very convicted that I was drawing beautiful symbols that l didn’t know we’re part of a pagan religion. So, now that I know, I decided that I’m going to stop drawing zentangles and zendalas and if I ever end up buying an adult coloring book, I am going to make sure that there are no mandalas in any of the pages.

A few days later, I received this new skirt along with several other boho/medieval skirts to share with my sisters.

image

Pretty cute, right? So I decided to wear it to church on Sunday morning because it was long and warm enough to wear in 40-50 degree weather and it also matched one of my tops and scarves. I thought it looked really beautiful.

So, I’m sitting in church and at one point, I’m staring at my skirt and this is what I see.

image

There are swastikas on my skirt.

I am wearing a skirt that is covered in a symbol that both the Nazis and Hindus use while I’m worshipping the Almighty God! I was panicking a little bit.
No one noticed the swastikas… and if they did, they didn’t say anything. I don’t think anyone noticed. Mom didn’t even notice and she notices a lot of things that I usually miss! In fact, she and a couple people complemented my skirt and how pretty I looked. *cringe* I had to bite my tongue after I politely thanked them.

When I got home, I quickly changed clothes and spent a good amount of time praying and thanking God that He looks at the heart of man and not at his clothing. I also thanked Him that He made me aware of the swastikas right away, even if it was in the middle of the sermon. I would most definitely have wanted that instead of having my parents or *gasp* the pastor’s wife ask me if I knew that there were swastikas on my skirt and if so, why.

I’m going to take the skirt apart and replace the the swastika fabric with a more appropriate one.

image

I’m also going to pay a little closer attention to what I’m doing and wearing. How about you?

3 thoughts on “Mandalas and Swastikas

  1. Oh! Guess what I found on Amazon.com? Grown up coloring books that feature Bible verses in the designs! I ordered a couple of them for Jami and myself. Here’s a link to one of the ones I ordered:

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1519300808?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01

    I am looking forward to making some pretty pages that I may frame and hang around my office, or slip in the front of my three ring binders. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love it! I’ll have to order one for myself. The pages would be neat for stationery. Jami wrote on the back of one of her coloring pages and sent it to me a few months ago. I love the tea and coffee pictures that she colored.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

