Home » Growth » A Candle in the Dark

A Candle in the Dark

I’m trying to read through the entire Bible before the year ends. I picked up a Choice Gleanings calendar at my church and so far I really like it. I have a devotional each day along with a few chapters from different parts of the Bible. This particular devotional spoke out to me:

For thou art my lamp [candle], O Lord: and the Lord will lighten my darkness. 2 Samuel 22:29
Thy word is a lamp [candle] unto my feet, and a light unto my path. Psalm 119:105

The Lord and His Word are both candle and light to us. A candle gives enough light for one step at a time. This is the life of faith – light for each step, day by day. But the Lord also lightens our darkness and His Word lights my path. This is a shining light, eliminating the darkness and illuminating our journey. At times the way is daunting, but God’s Word and God himself will lighten our journey through the valley. Trust in him. – Jim Comte

This encouraged me so much because right now, I have been struggling with doubt. Doubt about my friends, about God, about my future, and about myself. I suppose that’s why I started reading more than the given chapters. I was hungry for truth and I  wanted to find direction, more wisdom, and comfort for my anxious heart. This devotional reminded me that I don’t have to see where I’m going if I have Someone leading me by the hand. Step by step, little by little, He’s moving me and showing me His great plan in His time. I have found comfort in Job, courage in Genesis, and hope in Matthew. I have been reminded that I don’t have all of the answers, but I don’t need to. I can trust that God does and that He will take care of everything.

“When I feel afraid, still You’re there right beside me, Nothing will I fear as long as You are near. ” -A. Grant & M. W. Smith

Leave a Reply

